Ghost Girl, Mating Cows, Cheery-O, Royce Turns 9, David Accepted to BYU and SUN, Bryson at Wedding!

Bryson at Gage Pallo’s wedding reception. So cute!

THINGS THAT DIDN’T WORK:

Going to the dentist, I dislike it…..  But it actually went really well.  The point is to pretend I’m not there.  😉

Paying for braces for Tess.  Soon to arrive in April.  Uggghhh, the driving and money, but love the smiles afterwards.

Ghost Girl Hadley!  This is a horrible story.  For some reason we often end up on the phone in the car with Bryson.  Hadley seems to be with us during these calls.  We lose service for the last couple minutes before our house.  So I pull over to finish and say goodbye.  Hadley had enough one day and started walking home.  That was all fine during the day.  I picked her up when we were done.  One late night (10:30 pm) after I picked Kevin up at the airport, Hadley was in her white nightgown and the same thing happened.  She jumped out of the car while we were still talking to Bryson.  She had huge white tennis shoes on and was walking like a zombie.  It was so strange.  A car drove by and we were worried they would freak out about this strange “ghost girl” walking in the dark.  Thankfully, they pulled into their driveway.  Then we realized it was someone we knew from church.  So on Sunday we went to tell him what happened.  He was almost in tears (we were laughing, because it was funny, but he wasn’t).  He had worried all weekend about the poor lost girl, wandering the roads of Washougal.  He was very thankful we told him what really happened.  One of these days, it won’t turn out so well…….

Sneaking a little Daphne from a bush at the temple.  Kevin told me after we arrived home that while I was talking on the way home (to keep him awake) I kept sniffing the Daphne in between every few words, without even realizing it.  He imitated me and made me laugh.  That I didn’t even realize I was doing it, was crazy!  He said I sounded like Donald Trump!  Ha!

Scheduling balance!  Life is such an interesting thing.  The amount of things we say yes to and how stressed we can get.  Our kids force how busy we are, but we can still say yes or no to things.  I’m always trying to get that right balance between stress and boredom for our family.  Boredom is a rarity, maybe a better word is getting out to achieve things with other people.  I always think we are going to arrive at the perfect balance, then quickly realize that the perfect balance only lasts for a tiny bit.

Falling asleep on a park bench while the kids played in the sun.  In my hazy sleep, I hear “Those are the Jones boys, are you the Jones boys?”.  This hasn’t happened that much since we’ve moved here, so I perked up, not sure as to whether it was a good or bad thing.  😉  Thankfully, it was a great thing and the kids had fun playing with tons of other kids.

Watching my friends send their missionaries out, kids getting married and grand babies being born.  How did we get to this stage????  It was just yesterday that I was looking at all those cute missionaries in a different way. 😉

Dixon sniffing and coughing while huffing and puffing as he sat on my lap at church.  I was thinking to myself that he was over his cold and wondering why was he acting all weird?  After a bit, he started crying and said he was sad because in our family morning prayer, I prayed for two other kids and their sicknesses, but not his.  I quickly told him I’d make sure I included him in the evening prayer.  He suddenly was cured and happy again.  Oh how I love little kids.  It’s so easy to fix things for them.  🙂

Kevin and I having to squeeze a dinner date in at 8:00 pm after everyone else was where they needed to go.  We are determined to get time out (we usually get the temple in, but we want time alone with a meal).  It’ll get a lot better once Tess has her license next month.  It’s been super hard since Corbin left last July to go back to no teenage driver in the house.

Dixon informing us that he saw two cows “playing a weird game” on the way home.  He said it looked like they were having fun, that one cow was on the other cows back like playing piggy back.  Hadley and Royce immediately fell to the ground and hid their laughter.  I’m getting better and better at these situations and just explained that they were making a baby cow.  One cow was a girl and one was a boy.  That is how baby cows happen.  He looked at me and said “Hmmm, tricky!” Then went off to play.

Dixon having a hard time finishing his chores.  If he did them quickly he could be done in 10 to 15 minutes, but he gets VERY distracted.  The other day he wanted to get back to playing something so he said to me:  “If I keep focused, I’ll be able to finish my chores quickly.”  So glad he at least realizes what the problem is….

Merritt:  “Is there anyway to, well, not curse Hadley, but make her behave correctly while she is with me?”

Hairspray!!!  Three teens (or almost) with long hair!  I should take stock out in hairspray.  I can’t believe how quickly we are going through it.

I was trying to spell Cheerios quickly for a text and Merritt said it’s like “Cheering the O’s”.  Duuuuhhh!  Cheerios is made of oats, cheery O’s.  I had never thought about it!  Dumb Mom moment!

 

THINGS THAT WORKED:

Royce turning 9!  I can’t believe it, he’s still my little boy!  He had a fun Olympic themed party and we happen to get great weather for all the events. 

Getting to visit families in the ward to show a great Family History video https://www.lds.org/topics/family-history/fdd-cook/blessings-video?lang=eng&old=true. One of the cute families had four little kids.  We thought we were still in the thick of littles, but we left realizing that we aren’t.  We really miss all the cute things little kids do.  So fun, but we are getting old!  😉

Getting to hold little Lincoln Iverson.  We had a small “Welcome to the World” party.  It was so fun to get special time with great people while snuggling sweet babies. 

Hadley getting to babysit for someone else FOR REAL for the first time.  The other girls couldn’t babysit, so it fell to her.  SHE LOVED IT!  I can’t believe she is grown up enough to be babysitting.  I still look at her as she talks and see my little 4 year old.  🙂

Protocol!  Kevin and I got to help teach an Etiquette Night, then help set up for the actually evening.  This was done through Tess’ Classical Conversations Challenge class.  It was so fun!  They had a dinner, then danced the Foxtrot, Waltz and Swing.  The youth were all dressed up and treated each other like ladies and gentlemen. 

Merritt trying to earn permission to use an iPod.  She had to write a paper on why she needs it and what she would use it for.  Then she has to memorize the Family Proclamation https://www.lds.org/topics/family-proclamation?lang=eng&old=true.  She’ll still working on that part….  🙂

Still loving our shower.  It really is one of the best parts of my day.

Beautiful Spring and sunny days.  It has been raining a lot (which I love because I can get things done inside and snuggle with the kids).  Now there are sunny days sprinkled in and it’s like a festival in the NW.  It seems like everyone is outside and happy.  I love the flowers that are blooming.  Daphne is my favorite because of it’s fragrance and it’s one of the first to bloom.  

Getting to have a Young Single Adult party at our house and go to the temple.  We love the YSA.  We laughed a lot and think they’re just fabulous!

Swinging in my special swing at the top of the yard in the sun.  I feel extremely elated when I sneak up there.  🙂

Getting to have my Mom and Dad over for Sunday dinner.  We even had time for playing games.

David getting accepted to BYU’s Doctorate Program (in Psychology)!  We are so happy for Addisen and David.  He’s still waiting on one more school to make a final decision.  Great job David!

Getting a cute text of Bryson speaking at someone’s wedding.  I couldn’t get over how handsome he looked all grown up.

Isn’t Bev just so cute?!

Meeting up with Bev McCullough for a walk at Round Lake.  It was sunny and beautiful.  I get all filled up after spending time with her.  The river was huge and raging.  After our walk, we got some fruit and sat in the back of my car hanging our legs over the edge letting the sun hit us.  If you live in the NW, you know how special this is.  🙂 

Tessa getting an Academic Excellence Award at the High School.  We were laughing that the home schooler wasn’t at the assembly to receive the award.  Her math teacher has been so great this year.  She does Early Morning Seminary then goes to 1st period at the High School.  It’s worked out great this year.

Dixon finishing “How to Read in 100 Lessons”.  I used this book for the last five kids.  I didn’t know about it before that.  It has seen it’s last days, but I don’t have the heart to throw it away.  I LOVE teaching my little kids to read and learn.  I am really sad to see these stages come to an end….. 😦  Now Dixon gets to read off of the beginner readers shelf.  He’s pretty proud of himself.  
Merritt teaching herself to draw for a school project.

The boys finally getting to ride their bikes outside.  They even put the playing cards back on their wheels so that it sounds loud.  So cute!

Kevin and Royce working on his Pinewood Derby car.  We’ll see how it turns out.  🙂  Royce has researched and designed all of it himself.  I love his enthusiasm. 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ghost Girl, Mating Cows, Cheery-O, Royce Turns 9, David Accepted to BYU and SUN, Bryson at Wedding!”

  1. I SOOOOOOOOOOOO want to see the “Ghost Girl” video!!! But it sAys it “was removed by the user” when I try to click the link. Begging you please!

    And the next time I’m seeing you I’m bring daphne so I can hear your Donald Trump impression!!! HAHAHAHA

    And your “making a baby cow” story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t get enough of you!

  2. I’m never sure if the address below is one that you get replies from (WordPress)? I’m just so lazy that I press reply but guess I should confirm they go through…

    From: Katie Durrant [mailto:katie@durrantfamily.net] Sent: Thursday, March 23, 2017 7:25 AM To: ‘The KKJones Family’ Subject: RE: [New post] Ghost Girl, Mating Cows, Cheery-O, Royce Turns 9, David Accepted to BYU and SUN, Bryson at Wedding!

    I SOOOOOOOOOOOO want to see the “Ghost Girl” video!!! But it sAys it “was removed by the user” when I try to click the link. Begging you please!

    And the next time I’m seeing you I’m bring daphne so I can hear your Donald Trump impression!!! HAHAHAHA

    And your “making a baby cow” story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t get enough of you!

Leave a Reply

