Week 26 – Elder Corbin Jones

Turkeys, Transfers and the Bike Thief

Hey y’alls! Good week. Not too much rain. Not too bad. The work is going well. We have a lot of potential for putting people on date soon. So it’s going well.  img_0123

Where did the whole ‘Skwirl’ thing come from. Mom shows up as Kelly ‘Skwirl’ Jones on my email. Sounds like there’s an interesting story behind that that I missed.

So there’s this new Mormon message that came out a little over a week ago. It’s called: Where justice, love and mercy meet. It’s from an Elder Holland talk that we all remember, but they made a video for it that is absolutely amazing. You have to watch it.  

 

We started a less active on the stop smoking workshop and it’s been going well. He really has a desire to change and do better and so it has been going well. Part of it is that you need grapefruit and so on Friday I’m sure the people on the street thought that Mormons were crazy because there were two missionaries climbing the Bishops grapefruit tree and putting them in backpacks and bags, them riding around on their bikes with bulging bags and backpacks. I think it’s so cool that there are just grapefruit, lemon, pomegranate and orange trees just growing in people yards. Especially at this time of year. So cool.

So I’m pretty sure that this is just something that’s in C-Heights but there are just wild turkeys everywhere. There are just certain spots that certain turkeys hang around. There are just turkeys wandering around all over the city. I even saw a peacock the other day. So weird.  img_0129

I was on exchanges the other day Elder Unsicker and I were trying to get out of a gated community and the homeless guy had made it on the inside of the gate and was trying to get out. We got to the gate, stopped and were looking for which side the exit door was on.  The homeless guy came up to us and said “Hey can I borrow one of your bikes for a couple minutes?” We just looked at him for a second and said “No. Ummmm, we are really late” and we rode to the exit door and rode away. We couldn’t stop laughing about it.  Literally the worst attempted robbery ever. We kept joking about what we could have said: “Oh yeah, of course you can borrow our bikes. Just bring it back in 5 minutes. We will be waiting here. When you’re done shopping because I’m sure that’s what your using it for.  Oh, and here’s the key to our bike locks. We don’t want someone to steal it while you’re borrowing it.  Oh, and while you’re at it, here’s the key to our apartment.” It was just so terrible. I mean, he didn’t even say why he wanted to “borrow” it, just asked if he could borrow it. Worst attempt ever.

Went on exchanges twice this week, once with someone from my MTC district. We made a fire and pulled our mattresses in front of it and talked until 2:30 in the morning. The second exchange was great. It was with a greenie that I really like. He gets greenie broken tomorrow.  Had so much fun.

One of our less actives quit smoking. We put him to get to the temple by march 11.  Huge goal for him but he has the drive and I know he can make it.

Oh, one of he councilors in the mission presidency owns a water park that also has mini golf, laser tag, arcades, go carts and such. In the winter (not the summer. Too many girls with too little clothing) zones are allowed to schedule a p-day to go there for free and do all those things. Today is our p-day. I’m excited. It’s called Sun-splash. You’ll get pictures next week.

6 Months! I don’t feel like I’ve been out that long, but I feel like I’ve been out longer at the same time. Crazy. Oh well, still have a long way to go. Haha. But I’m glad I finally made some progress. Feels good.

Happy birthday Mom!  Love you!img_0153

Luva!

2 thoughts on “Week 26 – Elder Corbin Jones”

  1. “Where justice, love and mercy meet.” a beautiful saying, that I agree with completely! Have a great week! I am going to see Zack, Jenn and the twins at the end of this week. I can’t wait! Hugs, Aunt Peggy

  2. LOVE that they have random turkey’s walking around! Hahaha! And LOVE even more that you are “Skwirl”… sounds like a Ryan spelling. 🙂 Corbin is awesome!

Leave a Reply

