Goal #51 – Cake Auction Fun, Santorum and Romney Speak, Prom Song, Pantyhose and Skirts!!!

Our picture with Mitt Romney!

THINGS THAT DIDN’T WORK:

Forgetting to finish the hem on my new temple dress!!!  Kevin got me my favorite temple dress for my birthday.  He sewed the bottom but I was supposed to cut the extra off.  I put it on at the temple (without another option) and it was so embarrassing.  Thankfully, Rachel Ricks kept me giggling about it.  Of course, we were asked to be the helpers and I had to walk in front of everyone.  I’m sure no one could tell though…..

Tucking my skirt into my pantyhose!!!  Ahhhhhh, this was just after my dress experience.  Thankfully, a sweet lady told me before I got outside!  I used to do this kind of stuff all the time in Oregon, but I’ve been safe since we moved.  I think it’s all starting again!  🙂

Kevin’s flight from California getting canceled!  He had to take his first Red-Eye across the country.

Dixon climbing up into the sink and under the faucet at the pediatrician’s office!  The poor doctor couldn’t help but drop her jaw.  After eight kids you would think he couldn’t give me any new experiences.

THINGS THAT WORKED:

Going to see Rick Santorum at the Rocket Center.  We took all the kids….   It was a great experience to have the kids see the difference between the debates on TV and speaking in person.  Royce thought it was Mitt Romney the entire time.  🙂

Waiting for Rick Santorum to come out.

Getting to see Mitt Romney in Birmingham!!!  We left at noon with Bryson, Addisen and Corbin.  Tessa babysat for 5 hours!!!  She did awesome!  Then some people came over so she could go to a party.  There was a surprise introduction from Randy Owens, “Alabama’s” lead singer (I think).  Bryson held onto Mitt’s hand and almost forced him to take a picture!  Go Bryson!  We couldn’t get enough of the entire experience!  Bryson was the one that said we “had” to go, but I’m so glad he did!   🙂

Bryson and Randy Owens.

Dinner and the temple with the 3 oldest kids!  It was so great to relax and be with the older kids.  We arranged for the kids to do baptisms while we did a session at the temple.  We drove home singing loudly to music with the kids and watching a full moon over the Tennessee River.  IT WAS A PERFECT DAY!!! Love this next phase of life….  Kevin and I both turned to each other at the same time and said  “Soon it’ll be the 3 girls”.  😦

Corbin’s Cake Auction!!!  He did this as a fundraiser for his Eagle Project (he’ll be painting a room at the High School).  The auction was so fun!  Kevin was the auctioneer, many friends and neighbors were generous with their time (to make cakes) and donations.  When everyone was leaving Royce summed it up “All the cakes are leaving and only Mommy gets the money!”.   We had spent the day making fun cakes and he had a hard time understanding why we didn’t get to keep any.  🙂  

Cake Auction cakes.
My gorgeous Corbin! He did such a great job!
Some of the group...
Bryson and Claire singing!
Addy and Royce's Turtle Cake!!!

Claire and Bryson singing at the Cake Auction!  Warmed my heart and it’s so fun to watch them!  THANK YOU CLAIRE!!!  

  Just so you know…  Claire did not want to do this because she had been playing lacrosse all day and her voice was gone.  🙂

Picking Kevin up with all the kids at the airport, then heading straight to Santorum’s speech.  It was so fun to have the kids all run up to him in the airport after missing him so much.  Dixon was VERY happy to have his “Favorite” back.

Dixon measuring in at the 98th percentile for height and weight.  He is thriving to say it positively.  🙂

Merritt’s creative paper person.  Merritt's paper person

Reading a blog by another parent that described how much she enjoys her teenagers.  It really reminded me of how much I love having teenagers in the house.  I needed an attitude change!

Bryson asked to prom through a song on YouTube.  He answered her back right away with this song… 

2 thoughts on “Goal #51 – Cake Auction Fun, Santorum and Romney Speak, Prom Song, Pantyhose and Skirts!!!”

  1. I think you need to add the link to the original blog post about enjoying teenagers…..uh um I think my “friend” needs it 🙂

  2. Dori,
    Here is the link:
    http://www.hiphomeschoolmoms.com/2012/03/honoring-the-highschooler/

    A friend of mine posted it on FB and I liked the honoring the highschooler thought. It may not pertain as much because it has homeschooling in it, but I liked her attitude. I recently lost that good attitude and now I am getting it back. 🙂 I’m focusing on all the greatness my kids have rather than the “teenagery” things I label them with. Let me know if you have any words of wisdom to help me. 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

