Christmas Program

Kelly was asked to help pull a little program together for the YM/YW for the ward Christmas party.  So I wrote this poem and added in the music.  Our family did it for FHE and it went really well.  Thought I would pass it on in case anyone else wanted to use it.

What I Remember

Twas the night before Christmas, and despite my snoring mother,
Not a child was stirring, not even a my little brother;
The stockings were hung, presents under the tree,
and I tried to sneak down to steal some Christmas candy
and get a sneak peek of my presents, all wrapped with care,
I’d just unwrap a corner, so no one would hear.
(Sing “Up on the Housetop”)

As quietly as I could I opened the bedroom door,
put one foot in the hall, and heard a creak in the floor.
I stood there still, as still as can be,
No stirring was heard, so I walked on very carefully.
As I snuck down the stairs I hit a little bell,
But I quickly muted it so no one could tell.
(Sing “Jingle Bells”)

I made down the stairs and headed down the hall,
thinking of fudge, cookies, candies and all.
Quietly walking in,
I opened the cupboard bin.
I grabbed a bag of cookies and dug right in,
Stuffing my face with sugar and the brownies from Aunt Lynn.

When in the living room, I heard a little noise,
a rustling of feet that sounded like the twin boys.
I froze in my spot not wanting to move;
for up until now I thought I was pretty smooth –
But here I am about to get caught,
with chocolate on my face, frozen in this spot.
Then silence – nothing did I see or hear,
I looked around the corner and the two twins were there.
Kneeling around the nativity scene,
The two boys sitting there, it looked like a dream.
They were whispering to each other and pointing to Jesus
But they weren’t fighting or quarreling or making a fuss,
Instead they sang a favorite carol of mine,
their sweet little voices, so quiet and so fine.
(Sing “Away in a Manger”)

I sat and watched them in awe,
and was amazed at what I saw.
Here were two little boys, their backs to the tree,
Singing a Christmas carol and me stuffing my face with candy.
They didn’t care about the food, the presents or the tree,
just Mary, Joseph the Wise Men and the little baby.

They pointed to the angel above the nativity
and then to the one on top of the tree.
(Sing “Angeles We Have Heard on High”)

Feeling guilty, I wiped my face clean,
then stepped out into the open so I could be seen.
The boys looked a little startled, but stopped with a smile.
I sat them on my lap and we sang for a while.
Then in silence we stared at the tree and the lights,
out at the window and into the night.
(Sing “O’Christmas Tree”)

The boys fell asleep on my lap in the chair,
And then it hit me, right then and there,
Everything that meant something important to me
was in that room, but not under the tree.
My boys in my lap, the baby in a manger,
It was my family, my testimony and Jesus that mattered.
A sweet, calm peace filled the room and the night,
For the first time in a long time, everything seemed right.
(Sing “Silent Night”)

The next thing I remembered there was a creek at the stair,
The room was filled with the morning light, my family standing there
They stared at us with big smiling faces
Cheri, Spencer and Jenny with her braces.

Yes, we opened our presents and had fun with our new stuff,
But none of that I’ll remember, none of the earthly fluff.
The memories I’ll take with me weren’t under the tree,
Or in the kitchen I think you’ll agree.
It was those two boys on my lap with the light
reflecting off their peaceful faces for the rest of the night.
The soft feeling I’ll always want there,
Tomorrow, next month and for the rest of the year.
(Sing “Joy to the World”)

Lyrics for the music:

Up on the Housetop
Up on the housetop reindeer pause
Out jumps good old Santa Claus
Down thru the chimney with lots of toys
All for the little ones, Christmas joys

Ho, ho, ho!
Who wouldn’t go?
Ho, ho, ho!
Who wouldn’t go?
Up on the housetop, click, click, click
Down thru the chimney with good Saint Nick

Jingle Bells
Dashing through the snow
On a one-horse open sleigh,
Over the fields we go,
Laughing all the way;
Bells on bob-tail ring,
making spirits bright,
What fun it is to ride and sing
A sleighing song tonight

Jingle bells, jingle bells,
jingle all the way!
O what fun it is to ride
In a one-horse open sleigh

Away in a Manger
Away in a manger,
no crib for his bed,
the little Lord Jesus
laid down his sweet head.
The stars in the heavens
looked down where he lay,
The little Lord Jesus
asleep on the hay.

Angeles We Have Heard on High
Angels we have heard on high,
Singing sweetly o’er the plains,
And the mountains in reply
Echoing their joyous strains.
Gloria in excelsis Deo.
Gloria in excelsis Deo.
O Christmas Tree
O Christmas tree, O Christmas tree,
Thy candles shine out brightly!
O Christmas tree, O Christmas tree,
Thy candles shine out brightly!
Each bough doth hold its tiny light,
That makes each toy to sparkle bright.
O Christmas tree, O Christmas tree,
Thy candles shine out brightly!

Silent Night
Silent night,
holy night,
All is calm,
all is bright
Round yon virgin
mother and child.
Holy infant
so tender and mild,
Sleep in heavenly peace.
Sleep in heavenly peace.

Joy to the World
Joy to the world, the Lord is come
Let earth receive her King
Let every heart prepare Him room
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven, and nature sing

2 thoughts on “Christmas Program”

  1. Kevin, I’m impressed! And I have to admit, as I was reading and saw the line about me spencer and Jenny, I had to double check who had written it. Okay, it’s early and my brain is foggy. I REALLY want to drive out this summer and see all of you. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  2. I talked to Bryson today and he told me the address of your family’s blog. I just wanted to get the address so we could see what you guys were up to. We sure miss you guys!

Leave a Reply

