Kelly Actually Can Write On A Blog!!!!

OK, here it goes…..  I actually caught myself saying “We should put that on the blog!”  I think I am finally converted, now that we have moved.  🙂

It has been quite the whirlwind for the last 3 months.   I am vaguely feeling like we might be having a few “normal” moments here and there.  We LOVE the house, although it really does look bigger than it feels inside.  Or maybe, it’s that we just fill it up, so it doesn’t feel too big….  The yard definately feels bigger, but yard care goes along with that….  I do laugh each time I use our bathroom and feel like I am at a day spa.  The kids keep begging to be in there (I guess we can’t send them to that bathroom for a punishment!).

Corbin made me put up all our Halloween decorations last week,  so that it would feel like home.  It is really cute and fun.  Royce runs around the house with the meowing cat and says “neow”.  It sounds like a really whiney no.  It was cute but after 50 times of it, ten times a day,  we are banging our head on the walls.   On the way home from Seminary each morning, Bryson teaches Royce his animal sounds as we pass the different farm animals.  Its so cute, but I don’t think language is Royce’s strong point.  He says “Boo” for moo.  At least he is trying….  🙂

Kevin and I got to go to the temple a week and a half ago and it was so wonderful.  It is about the size of a Stake center!  I didn’t get lost at all….  It is truly inspired to have these small temples all over so that you don’t have to drive as far and have as many workers.  We loved getting to go and talk for the hour and half drive.  We are truly thankful that we can still go and that we have babysitters at home!  Addy even had some babysitting jobs last week.  One was so they could goto the temple too.  She was smiling big the next morning, full of stories about the cute kids.  She really misses all the families that she babysat for.  She loved those kids (she says “Hi”).

The Stake Relief Society had a “Grains Galore” activity before the broadcast on Saturday.  It was so amazing!  They had taster tables with samples of “Tried and True Recipes” made with different grains.  The food was so good, I am an avid believer now.  I am getting a grinder and making home made bread and I cooked with millet, lentils and curry tonight (a huge first for me).  The kids all said it smelled like Nana and Papa’s house at Christmas (the loved the smell).  They weren’t as pleased with the taste of the food though.  😦  They’ll get used to it….

We’ve been doing our school since we first got here in the apartment and it’s been going well.  We are really feeling the loss of our Commonwealth and Home school groups though!  We were mourning for a week but realized that wouldn’t do us any good, so now we are searching and developing new ways to implement some of it on our own.  Thank you everyone that put in so much time last year and this year!  I’m here to say that it’s all worth it!  Life is hard without it!  There are a lot of Home Schooled children here, but there are a lot more regulations too.

Oddly enough, the weather feels just like Oregon at this time of year.  There are clear, crisp beautiful days and then rainy, cloudy days.  People say it usually doesn’t rain like this, but it works for us.

We took Bryson to the doctor the other day, for his cast, laying  in the waiting room were lots of  “Outdoor Life”  type magazines.  They had some major guns and hunting paraphernalia.  I love the firearm attitude down here.  My assessment, thus far, is that the freedom here is closer to what I grew up with in Oregon (back in the good old days).  Meaning that, there are not crazy regulations for every step you take.  I can actually make a decision for myself.  It’s fantastic!  We can even burn in our backyard.  On the way home from Seminary on the radio, we get to hear a classroom of kids say the “Pledge of Allegiance” and they play the “Star Spangled Banner”  everyday!  It’s amazing!  The people on the radio are really conservative too.  I feel like I stepped into a foreign country.  🙂

Wednesday, there was a Court of Honor for the boys, so we had the entire family there.  Addy wasn’t finished yet, so we played in the gym with some young men (our little ones were running all around with balls).  We played “Knock-out” and I jumped right in, of course!  The boys kept saying ” Your Mom is going to play?”.  I turned to them and let them have it.  Then we proceeded to have a blast!  The YM were great!  The next morning at Seminary the guys were all saying “Your Mom is ba’llin”, translated means, I passed the test and they all think Bryson’s parents are so cool and fun!  Ha!  It did feel great to be out there again.  We really need a basketball hoop so I can take them all on again, with shoes this time!

I also get to be part of a group that meets every two weeks to talk about the scriptures we are studying.  It is like the having the best book club ever.  The women are so fun and we get really deep.  I have a lot to learn, but hopefully I will!

We all miss you so much (I can’t really think about it, or I start crying…).  Thank you all for your love, support, encouragement and help in the move.  We could never have done it without you!

Love to you all from Alabama!

2 thoughts on “Kelly Actually Can Write On A Blog!!!!”

  1. Hi Ya All,

    We miss you guys!!! Loved looking at the pictures of your house. Believe it or not, I loved seeing the kids in your movie of the house,as much as we loved the house.
    We haven’t gotten the internet camera yet. Still working on that. I know that I need to hurry October home teaching will be over too soon. You know the month goes by too fast, and before you know it, Matt will have to call in his report.
    Erin Stokes and I went trick or treating last Friday. ( It was our wild and crazy Birthday thing!) We almost went to your house to surprise the new family. However we changed our minds thinking that they may not understand our humor and call the police. I guess I am suppose to comment on your blog. …. Great Job Kelly! We love you and miss you lots. ~ The McReynolds

  2. Margaret! I love your post. Trick or Treating already?!!!! I would have loved to have seen it. You two were probably cracking yourselves up! We got our end of the camera working with my parents the other night and it was so funny!!! We can’t wait to see you on it too! It’s almost Oct. 31st. Farmington ward will be wondering why they are still getting reports for the Jones family when they thought they got rid of us! 🙂

    Love to you…..

Leave a Reply

